2019 Royalty

Laura & Jeff Saxe

Meet the Saxe's!

Raised in Washington State and long-time residents of Alaska, after spending one year in Cordova, Jeff and Laura decided to make Valdez their permanent home. The family expanded with the births of their three beautiful children, Diane, Chelsie and Glen. They are also now proud grandparents to seven grandchildren, all whom were born and raised in the great State of Alaska.

During their 39 years of blissful marriage, Jeff and Laura established three thriving Valdez businesses, Eagle’s Rest RV Park and Cabins, Capt’n Joe’s Gas and CJ’s Tesoro. Through hard work, the continuous love of their family and friends, community support and devoted customers, they have grown to become the largest RV Park in Alaska with over 190 full hook-ups and 19 rental cabins. Although they recently sold their two gasoline stations, Jeff and Laura keep busy managing the RV park and traveling across the US to promote Valdez and Alaska as a premier vacation destination.


For the past twelve years, Jeff has served on the board of directors for the Copper Valley Electric Association and Laura is currently the State chair for the Alaska Campground Owners Association. Jeff and Laura are both active community members, have volunteered for the Valdez Snowmachine Club for over 20 years and have graciously sponsored countless local events. (Including the Whiskey Sit in 2018 & 2019 and being a stop for several years on the Wine Walk!)

Like many Alaskan’s, Jeff and Laura share a love for hunting, fishing and getting theopportunity to meet people from all over the world. And while they both participate every year in the Gold Rush Days activities and special events, they feel extremely honored to be selected as the 2019 King and Queen of Gold Rush.

Past Kings and Queens of Gold Rush

2019- Laura & Jeff Saxe

2018- Hazel Hill

2017- Shannon Mahoney-Irish & Henry Irish

2016- Sue and Bob Smith

2015- Charlotte and Jim Shepard

2014- Lynne and Larry Michaud

2013 – Donna and Jim Gifford

2012 – Jerri Plaster

2011 – Larry and Meg Weaver

2010– Trudy and Phil Koszarek

2009– Russ and Molly Palmer

2008– Dave and Joanne Winney

2007– John Cerutti and Marie Blood

2006– Mike and Sue Britt

2005– Darwin and Mary Barrie

2004– Dan and Trish Stowe

2003– Donnie and Sue Blackburn

2002- Lori Saylors and Larry Hodges

2001– Lyle and Pat Von Bargen

2000– Lynn and Janese Chrystal

1999– Linda Fleming and Bill Unfer

1998– Walt and Gloria Day

1997– Judy Londo and Princess Krista Cameron

1996– Benny and Joyce James

1995– John and Jane Tongen

1994– Tom and Gloria McAlister

1993– Bert Cottle and Jean Phillips

1992– Fred and Kathy DiNicola

1991– Arch Fry and Dorothy Clifton

1990– Emil and Dorothy Wegner

1989– Clyde and Hallie Draine Ruhl

1988– Harold Williams and Cathlia Seagrove

1987– John and LaRue Rogers

1986– Harmon and Shorty Hall

1985– George and Judy Maykowskyj

1984– Robert and Ann Kelsey

1983– O.L. and Dorothy Crisp

1982– Mac and Sheila MacDonald

1981– Ed and Frances Walker

1980– Harvey and Delores Stellings

1979– Fran and Robert Larson

1978– Monte and Enola Olds

1977– Sid and Edith Moore

1976– Clint “Truck” Egan and Oma Belle Day

1975– Phil and Phyllis Irish

1972– Owen and Joyce Johnson